Is that a mutated eggplant?

Review of Astroslugs HD
Developer: Bit Barons
Price(15/9/2011): $1.99
Author’s Rating: 7

This game is good for: Winding down after a long day at work

We all know that's actually an eggplant..

 

This week’s iPad game of the week: Astroslugs, is one of those grid-based puzzle games that you end up spending hours on, without any clue why you have. Your task is to fit shapes, created by joining dots onto asteroid like rocks, until all the spaces are covered. Sounds easy? It’s not – There’s a pre-set number of “shapes” that you can draw out with your finger, so be prepared to be scratching your head when things don’t line up right.

Non-frustrating puzzle fun. A rarity these days.

As you progress through the 65 levels on offer, you will notice that the game was designed with a good mix of difficulty levels. Some puzzles can be sorted with just 1 look, while others got me slightly fairly frustrated. But that’s the fun of it! Astroslugs is one of those games where you refuse to let it’s cute appearances get the better of your (lack of) geometric skills.  But worry not, as expected, there’s a hint option available if you should find yourself stuck.

65 Levels will keep you entertained

That being said, Astroslugs probably wasn’t made to trip out your brain into throwing your ipad out the window. There seems to be a calming, zen like quality to playing: I ended up in a very relaxed state of mind, slumped on my couch, playing it for about a few hours. A nice alternative to being constantly on edge playing one of the many action games currently showing up in the itunes store.  And the ambient’ish sound track (which I like) probably helps with that.

Hints are available to help you unstuck yourself.

In summary, Astroslugs is a polished development. Although the gameplay is simplistic, it is accessible enough for most people, and the graphics are delightful, though not necessarily the focus of things. At $1.99, it’s a good buy if you want something to chill out with but not fall asleep to. For people who enjoy sudoku or games like bejeweled, this is a definite recommendation.

Review by Gnoke Red

10 Responses to “Is that a mutated eggplant?”


  1. 1 site February 10, 2014 at 3:01 am

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it,
    you can be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark
    your blog and may come back later in life.
    I want to encourage one to continue your great posts, have a nice
    evening!

  2. 2 vianascorner.com April 5, 2014 at 11:37 am

    Hello I am so happy I found your website, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Bing for something else, Regardless I am here
    now and would just like to say many thanks for a incredible
    post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read
    through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up
    the great work.

  3. 3 free dayz June 28, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the structure
    of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it
    better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  4. 4 call of duty advanced warfare download June 28, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    I believe that is among the most important information for
    me. And i’m glad studying your article. However want to statement on few general things, The site style is wonderful, the
    articles is in point of fact great : D. Good task, cheers

  5. 5 spintires download June 28, 2014 at 7:35 pm

    I simply could not leave your website before suggesting that I actually
    enjoyed the usual information a person provide for your guests?
    Is gonna be again often in order to check out new posts

  6. 6 Minecraft pe Pc Download June 28, 2014 at 7:42 pm

    Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to know so much about this,
    such as you wrote the guide in it or something.

    I think that you could do with some % to drive the message home a little bit, however other than that, that is magnificent blog.
    A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

  7. 7 garry's mod download June 28, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after browsing through
    many of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Regardless,
    I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking
    it and checking back regularly!

  8. 8 Minecraft PE download June 28, 2014 at 11:44 pm

    Hi there colleagues, its great paragraph concerning tutoringand fully defined, keep it up all the time.

  9. 9 заработок в интернете June 29, 2014 at 1:20 am

    Эта весьма хорошая фраза придется как раз кстати

  10. 10 opening a carpet cleaning business August 29, 2014 at 9:44 pm

    Hi there i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when i read this post
    i thought i could also make comment due to this
    good article.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address and receive notifications of our reviews! Featuring reviews of the "iPad Game of the Week"

Tweet Tweet


